West Coast District Sport Council rewards achievers

West Coast Chairman Mr Gerald Donn

The West Coast District Sport Confederation held its prestigious Sports Awards Ceremony at Club Mykonos in Langebaan on Friday 6 December with several Federations receiving accolades of excellence.

Under the guidance of the West Coast DSC Chairman Mr Gerald Donn and his executive committee, a number of athletes were nominated in the various categories which included Sportswoman and Sportsman of the Year.

The Sportswoman of the Year award went to Ronel Beukes from Athletics, while Judo’s Owen Palm was the proud recipient of the Sportsman of the Year accolade. Jan de Wet from Karate was the winner for technical excellence. He is on the photograph with JP Naude, president of the WCPSC, who was amongst the guests.

Jan de Wet, JP Naude, Isabel de Wet

A fantastic highlight of the evening was the presidential awards. The presidential awards are solely at the discretion of the Chairman and on this occasion, Mr Donn recognised the WCPSC amongst others for their contribution to the world of sport.

The awards ceremony was attended by a number of district chairpersons, including Mr Desmond Speelman (Eden) and Mr David Maans (Central Karoo). Also in attendance was Mr Jeroam Arendse (WCPSC treasurer).


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print